top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff4Kicks

Pardon the InDEERUPTion... but are these shoes worth $100?

Now a couple months old, adidas' new 2018 model, the Deerupt, has released in a slew of colorways. At a low price point of $100, are they worth it, or do they feel like a $100 shoe?

The shoe that was built for Instagram. Or so adidas says. Boasting a stretch mesh upper (not primeknit), a grid-webbing to cover the upper and EVA midsole, all atop a flat sole, the Deerupt is an eye catcher for sure, but is that a good thing?


Dubbed the 'fishnet tennis HUs" this pair offers far more comfort than the Tennis Hu, and that is thanks to a stretchier upper, and an Ortholite insole that provides ideal comfort. Upon first seeing this model, I was not impressed. I thought it looked cheap, and wasn't sure the comfort. Upon getting a pair in hand and wearing for 2 months now, I can say that I am a fan, and would highly recommend... with some reservations/suggestions.


The colorways come in both loud and subtle options. From neon green and black, to triple white, triple black, and beyond, the appeal fits both types of colorway afficionados. I am partial to loud shoes, so this solar red/ blue colorway stood out to me. Upon trying on, the fit was something i noticed. I went .5 size up from my normal (in adidas I am typically a 9.5) I went with a 10 and was very glad, my feet would have hit the end in a 9.5. So, for sizing, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND GOING .5 SIZE UP!


Once on my feet, I was surprised how comfy the OrthoLite insole was... it gives cushioning that is responsive, provides max comfort, and allows for longer wear. Paired with a stretch mesh upper, I was very surprised at the comfort of this shoe! and sitting on a EVA midsole with a sturdy outsole, the shoe doesnt feel cheap, it actually holds up to and allows all day wear. but there is still oe divicive feature....


the webbing.


Do I like it? I don't not like it ;) But seriously, it really doesn't bother me a whole lot. I think the shoe would look fine without it (Seriously, check out Hes Kicks' net removal he did on the pride pair -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=op1vr99NUOE) (FIRE)


In all honesty I do think it takes away as much as it adds to the shoe. Without it, the upper pops more, but the net does reinforce extra foot stability, so it actually serves a functional purpose. When it comes to this shoe, I think that is the deciding factor for people, and overall, I am a fan of the net because of the upper stability it provides.


Overall, for a $100 shoe, I think the Deerupt is every bit worth it. Not a grab-every-color type shoe, but having a couple pairs in the closet to throw in the rotation (esp. during summer) is something I recommend. If adidas put this shoe on miadidas I think we could see some truly creative colorways. You can usually find some kind of sale too, so getting a pair for $70 to $80 is very likely. I think they are better than the Tennis HUs, and they are a great new adidas model for the low (better than ikinis in my personal opinion)a


(oh, and the little off-white type adidas branding on the side is a nice subtle feature I am a fan of)


Anyway, thanks for reading! I hope that helps you know more about the adidas Deerupt! There are more pics below, and check my Instagram (@jeff4kicks) for some on feet shots!


If you are compelled, you can buy your pair here at adidas:

https://www.adidas.com/us/deerupt


Thank you again for reading, your support means the world to me!






__________________________________________________________________________________

Make sure to follow my social media channels (@Jeff4Kicks) to stay updated!


--life is too short, try new things just4kicks--


40 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page