top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff4Kicks

Rainy day? Rock the Size? x adidas originals I-5923 "Hawaiian Thunderstorm"

Blue suede, coral accents, and black boost make up an ideal summer shoe for rain or shine.

Back in April, Size? and adidas dropped an i-5923 (iniki) collab, drawing inspiration from Hawaiian Thunderstorms. I think the concept was carried out effortlessly, with the teal/coral hits on the upper giving the tropical feel matched with the darker, black upper and boost midsole. All of this sits atop a translucent outsole, reminiscent of standing in a puddle.


This was my first pair of i-5923s (inikis) and I'm not gonna lie, I was a bit underwhelmed with the feel. They just have an ill fitting, flat skate shoe feel to me, and I wasn't impressed at first. So I decided to let them break in awhile, get some good wear out of them and see if my thoughts changed. They are far comfier now the more I have worn them, but I still can't really wear them all day, just not enough stability or comfort in my personal opinion.


But! More about this particular colorway. The toebox is a light blue/teal suede, as is the back heel cup, the back heel tab is a nice buttery soft salmon leather, and I did a lace swap from black laces to light pink laces from

ropelacesupply.com


I love the black boost on this pair, it allows for more wear without worrying about yellowing the boost, and while the outsole is translucent, It still hasn't gotten too dirty thankfully. My favorite feature about this shoe, is the salmon 3 stripe accents on the side, I think it just adds a little extra pop, and ties in the colors of the shoe nicely without overdoing it. The upper is not primeknit but a tighter mesh, really isn't the most comfortale upper material, some PK would have been ideal here but, oh well.


I went .5 size down from my usual, and I am glad I did, otherwise my foot would get lost in here. It already has lots of room, so I probably could have gone full size down. Regardless, .5 down is still a satisfactory fit. Overall, I would give this shoe a 6/10. Nothing wrong it, just not my most favorite. It gets a high score on colorway execution, this is a beautiful CW. But for daily wear, I can't recommend it. Its about a once a week shoe for me, maybe.

Nevertheless, for the retail price of $130 that is hard to beat, especially with the materials used. I personally wouldn't spend much over $175 for the pair, just grab some black PK inikis and lace swap some pink and blue. for FAR cheaper. But, if you have a trip to the beach or Hawaii coming soon, these kicks wouldn't be a back choice to bring along.


Check out some more pics below, and let me know your thoughts! Thanks for reading, and have a great day!




__________________________________________________________________________________

Thanks for checking out today's post!

Make sure to follow my social media channels (@Jeff4Kicks) to stay updated!


--life is too short, try new things just4kicks--

54 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page