top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff4Kicks

The Future is now: adidas Alphaedge 4D

adidas has brought together the present and future with their latest Futurecraft 4D technology. After a few smaller releases to start 2018, I was able to get my hands on a pair of the Alphaedge 4D runners from All Star Weekend. Will this tech takeover BOOST? Well, here's what I think.


First things first - These require some breaking in. Don't be upset when you get them and after a day you aren't impressed. Just like a good baseball mitt, or some new jeans, these get better with wear. The sole fits as more of a running fit, so if you are used to flatter NMD soles or another less-running shoe-type fit, just know these hug your feet more - which personally I am a fan of.


Okay, onto the review. This is the adidas Alphaedge 4D Runner in Ash Green. I ordered these true to size. All the online forums and review videos said stick TTS. Personally, I would have gone a .5 size down, but I also enjoy a more snug fit. I don't regret TTS, but with the looser lacing system that I do, my foot slides a bit.



First impressions - I was cautiously satisfied. You know when someone says a movie is the best movie this year, and you go see it and 10 minutes in you are like "this isn't so great, what a letdown" but then an hour later you are fully invested in it? (no, just me? okay cool) anyway, that's how this shoe was for me. Putting it on foot, I was expecting next level tech, and instant comfort. I won't lie, I was almost disappointed. But then I wore it the rest of the day, and started to realize why this 4D tech is so special --- because it accomplishes exactly what it is supposed to. Let me explain.


When BOOST dropped, the world wasn't ready for the high comfort level it provided or for the wave it was about to start. It blew away expectations because people weren't as aware of the comfort it had, (or what adidas could do for that matter) and so when it dropped, people were caught off guard. Here, this 4D tech has been built up so much, that there is no way it could surpass BOOST because we all expect it to. In all reality, it's here to offer an alternative to BOOST, and usher in a new wave of footwear technology. It accomplishes just that. It is new tech, that looks futuristic, and offers an all new feel.



After wearing it for a day, I realized it provided comfort, it had more of an athletic fit, and the 4D midsole didn't wear down, or get dirty, it was more sustainable. And honestly, more responsive that boost.


The beauty of the 4D printed midsole is that it allows for 3 distinct sections of flexibility and sturdiness. The front section underneath the toes is the most sturdy. You can hardly squeeze this part, it is very tough and allows maximum support. The mid-foot arch area is the most responsive, you can squeeze the midsole here the easiest, and it almost has a softer feel to it than the other parts of the midsole do. The heel is a happy medium between the two. It allows bounce and will give way to each step that is taken, but doesn't completely collapse and in so, provides a sturdy stride/step, whereas BOOST collapses far more and will wear down faster. Not a bad thing, again, it's not to replace BOOST, but to accompany it.


The midsole stays surprisingly clean. With so many holes. you would think it would gather dust and other rocks/ small particles in it, but I haven't had a scuff or any issues with things being trapped in the midsole. The outsole is different from the early Futurecraft runner and Ultraboost outsole, it is one fully-covering piece of Continental rubber. So far, I think it has great traction and while I was skeptical at first, it has held up surprisingly well.


One complaint I do have is the lace holes. They are FAR too tiny to easily re-lace. I lace swapped for white laces and had to try several different pairs, but each time I had to force the aglet through the opening. Just a heads up for those who want to switch from the stock black laces (personally I think the white helps it pop). Some GITD laces would also look crazy clean on this pair.



As for the upper, it is constructed like an Alphabounce (as the name Alphaedge suggests, it is an Alphabounce relative). It has the main grey outer upper, but has a mesh grey underneath that follows the tongue to the front of the laces. There is also an inner black bootie-type liner that helps lock the ankle in. The heel tab has a reflective stripe like the Alphaboucne does (one of the features that was the selling point for my first Alphabounce pair - I like details) so I like that feature, and the heel cup area features an adidas logo.



The retail for this pair was $300, I was able to get mine for $380, and as for the pricetag... I get it. adidas can only print a finite number of these soles in a given time

(I think they take an hour to print one?) and so that takes up time. Over time I think we will start to (hopefully) see the pricetag come down, but don't expect that anytime soon. (maybe in a few years).


Is it worth it? To me (a heavy adidas fan and enthusiast who needs to try the latest tech), yes. To an average, fair-weather adidas fan who likes BOOST, I would say wait. If you want to cop a pair, skip one of the upcoming 350 V2 releases this summer and grab a pair of 4Ds, it is worth it to try. Otherwise, wait till 2019 when the selection is higher and you have more 4D options. I wouldn't pay anything over $500 for this pair.


All in all, I would give this shoe an 8/10. The comfort is like a foamposite, it forms to your foot the more you wear it, and becomes more comfortable. This pair will be heavy in my summer rotation, and as for Futurecraft technology, it's here, and it will only get better. But for now, BOOST still reigns supreme for me ,just because the price point is lower and the comfort remains at the top.



__________________________________________________________________________________ That's today's review.! Thanks for reading, I appreciate your support more than you know. Make sure to follow my social media channels (@Jeff4Kicks) to stay updated! --life is too short, try new things just4kicks--

539 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page