top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff4Kicks

Latest Pickup: adidas Ace 16+ Ultraboost 'Oreo'

Last week I was on the adidas site and saw a pair I had forgotten about, the Oreo Ace 16+ UB, and since I hadn't bought a pair of shoes yet this year, I pulled the trigger and copped. Now that I have them in-hand, here's some close-ups and overall impressions.



For me, this model was always a fresh look. It was new. It was a soccer shoe, something that adidas creates to perfection, mixed with their latest boost tech and primed for everyday wear. It was a win win from the go. The early tonal colorways all sold out with quickness, but this adidas exclusive "Oreo" colorway can still be purchased on their website.


First reactions after taking it out of the box, is the knit color! The website has it looking black and white, but there is some lime green and sky blue mixed in that just makes these pop! It adds extra flair to the shoe and makes it more outfit-versatile. Another unique aspect is the patterns, each shoe has its own pattern so no 2 shoe looks the same. I always love that aspect on sneakers, gives them a more exclusive feel.


Obviously the most interesting part of this shoe is the absence of laces. It's weird at first, because it feels like there should be some lacing system, but with the primeknit and the 3 stripes, your foot stays in place pretty well.


The feel is overall like an Ultraboost. They have the comfort of the Ultraboost heel cup and midsole/outsole, and the primeknit upper. The main difference obviously being the higher cut ankle collar, and the 3 big stripes where a cage would be. The 3 stripes actually do a good job of providing foot stability and holding it in place like a cage would on the UB.


Another thing I was skeptical of that turned out well is the ankle collar. I know on the mid Ultraboosts the collar is very thick, and sometimes they can have a sharper edge that can cut up your ankle while breaking them in, but this one is very soft and truly primeknit, so even with short socks I was still comfortable with them.


Here is a picture of the medial side, as you can see there are no stripes (just on the lateral side) but it does have that tighter knit where a lacing system would normally be. I love the contrast of the white boost on the oreo upper.


As far as the rest of the shoe goes, the heel has a butter-soft leather heel tab and back, with adidas printed on it, and there is also a pull tab on the front of the ankle collar. The insole has a matching logo with the pull tab (shown below) and is otherwise black.


The retail on this pair is $200, you can find them for as low as about $150 on places like Stock X depending on size, or you can still grab them from the adidas website linked below:


https://www.adidas.com/us/ace-16-plus-ultraboost-shoes/AC7749.html


For sizing, I would say go true to your adidas size. I wear a 10 in Nike but in most adidas shoes I am a 9.5. I went 9.5 on this pair and the fit is perfect. I also wear a 9.5 in Ultraboosts, so if you have a pair of UBs, go true to that size.


All in all I would say this shoe lives up to its price tag. I wouldn't pay more, I don't think it is over $200 status, but with the comfort it offers, and the unique look and feel it provides, I have comfortably worn it all day several times and not had any issues, sometimes even leaving it on in my house. If you are looking for a pair that has a mid-cut, is easy to slip on and match with any outfit, I highly recommend these as they offer all of those qualities. I'll post some additional angles below, and stay tuned to my social media channels to get some on feet looks!







__________________________________________________________________________________


That's today's review.! Thanks for reading, I appreciate your support more than you know.


Make sure to subscribe down below, and follow my social media channels to stay updated!


--life is too short, try new things just4kicks--

43 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page